You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

CAB hands over membership cards to women cricketers

IANS  |  Kolkata 

The Cricket Association of Bengal on Saturday for the first time handed over honorary membership cards to eighteen women cricketers who represented from Bengal.

Among the cricketers thus feted were Jhulan Goswami, Sreerupa Basu (Mukherjee), Keya Roy, Runa Basu, Mithu Mukherjee, Priyanka Roy, Sharmila Chakraborty, Lopamudra Bhattacharya (Banerjee), Rumeli Dhar and Sandhya Majumdar (Mukherjee).

The CAB has also decided to Abuild a task force Ato provide medical insurance to the women cricketers playing for Bengal at various levels, said the association's joint secretary Avishek Dalmiya.

"We have also made arrangements with the KSCA (Karnataka State Cricket Association) for preparatory cum warm up matches to be played in Alur, Bengaluru, between October 10-20 before the start of the BCCI domestic tournaments. The warm up matches would include four one day matches and two T- 20 matches," said CAB Vice President, Sankar Nath Bagchi.

Former cricketer Mithu Mukherjee thanked CAB for the gesture.

AaceThis is the first time I have heard of a state body that has arranged for the handing over of honorary membership cards to women cricketers of Bengal who represented the country in international cricket and we thank CAB for such a brilliant step," said Mukherjee.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, September 17 2017. 01:08 IST