You are here: Home » Politics » News » Central
Business Standard

Chhattisgarh's richest candidate wins Ambikapur constituency

Scion of royal family of Sarguja, bagged 84,668 votes while his rival managed 65,100 votes

Press Trust of India  |  Raipur 


Congress' richest candidate in Chhattisgarh Tribhuneshwar Sharan Singh Dev, who has declared his assets worth over Rs 560 crore, defeated BJP's Anurag Singh Deo by a margin of 19,558 votes.

Scion of royal family of Sarguja, 61-year-old Dev, who is popular as TS Baba, bagged 84,668 votes while his rival managed 65,100 votes.

Incidentally, Dev had earlier beaten Anurag in the 2008 Assembly Elections by mere 948 votes.

leader Ajit Jogi's son and wife both have won their respective constituencies.

While Jogi's son Amit defeated BJP's Samira Paikra in the Marwahi constituency by a margin of 46,250 votes, his wife Renu won from Kota defeating BJP's Kashiram Sahu by 5,089 votes.

Amit got 82,909 votes while his mother Renu, who is also a sitting MLA, garnered 58,390 votes.

Veteran leader Motilal Vora's son Arun managed 58,645 votes and defeated BJP's Hemchand Yadav by 5,621 votes at the Durg constituency.

Slain Chhattisgarh Pradesh Committee chief Nand Kumar Patel's son Umesh won at the Kharsia constituency beating BJP's Jawaharlal Naik by 38,888 votes. Umesh secured 95,470 votes while his rival managed 56,582.

also secured the Kawardha seat, home town of Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh.

First Published: Mon, December 09 2013. 09:18 IST