You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

Ex-MP, RSS ideologue, danseuse, stone artist nominated to Rajya Sabha

The nominations were made by President Ram Nath Kovind on the advice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister's Office

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Opposition members protest inside the Rajya Sabha in New Delhi during the ongoing winter session of Parliament
Photo: PTI

Former MP Ram Shakal, RSS ideologue Rakesh Sinha, and were on Saturday nominated to the

The nominations were made by on the advice of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) said.

"Ram Shakal is an eminent people's leader and public representative from Uttar Pradesh, who has devoted his life for the welfare and well-being of the Dalit community. A farmer leader, he is widely respected for championing the cause of farmers, labourers and migrants," it said.

He has also been a three-time member of the Lok Sabha, representing the Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

RSS ideologue Sinha is the founder and honorary director of the Delhi-based think-tank India Policy Foundation.

A professor at the Motilal Nehru College of the Delhi University, he is also a member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research (ICSSR).

Mohapatra is an internationally renowned authority on stone carving.

Practising since 1959, he has trained over 2,000 students. Mohapatra has contributed to the preservation of traditional sculpture and ancient monuments and has worked on the beautification of the Sri Jagannath Temple, Puri.

His famous works include a 6-feet-high statue of the Sun God carved in grey sandstone, in the Central Hall of Parliament; and the Wooden Buddha, Buddha Temple, Paris.

Mansingh is among India's foremost exponents of Indian classical dance.

She has been performing Bharatnatyam and Odissi for over six decades. She is also a well-known choreographer, teacher, orator and social activist.

Mansingh founded the Centre for Indian Classical Dances in Delhi in 1977.

Article 80(1)(a) of the Constitution provides that the president can nominate to the 12 persons having special knowledge, or practical experience in respect of literature, science, art and social service.

There were eight nominated members in the and four vacancies, which were left, were on Saturday filled.

First Published: Sat, July 14 2018. 13:11 IST