Business Standard

Naveen Patnaik opts for a lean Cabinet for fifth straight term as CM

10 new faces, including two women, inducted to the new Cabinet

Naveen Patnaik

Naveen Patnaik takes oath as the chief minister of Odisha, in Bhubaneswar, on Wednesday | Photo: PTI

Jayajit Dash Bhubaneswar
Bjiu Janata Dal (BJD) president Naveen Patnaik took oath as Odisha’s chief minister for the fifth straight term. He is the third CM after Jyoti Basu (West Bengal) and Pawan Kumar Chamling (Sikkim) to achieve the rare distinction.

Odisha’s Governor Ganeshi Lal administered the oath of office and secrecy to Patnaik and his new Council of 20 ministers.

Patnaik led BJD to a thumping win in the 2019 assembly elections, winning 112 of 146 constituencies. The immense mandate blew away the Modi wave seen in the Lok Sabha elections and anti-incumbency.

Election for Patkura (in Kendrapara district) had to be

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 29 2019 | 3:40 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to