You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Justice Adarsh Kumar Goel takes over as NGT chairperson

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Justice today assumed charge as of the National Green (NGT).

Justice Goel, who retired as a on July 6, has been appointed for five years.

He is the third in the since its inception in 2010.

The first was Justice Lokeshwar Singh Panta, who relinquished his post after being appointed lokayukta of in 2011, and the second was Justice Swatanter Kumar, who retired in December last year after completing a five-year tenure.

Justice Goel was appointed in July 2014.

The post of chairperson was lying vacant for more than six months, since Justice Swatanter Kumar's retirement on December 20 last year.

After Justice Kumar's retirement, Justice was made He retired on February 13.

After him, Justice was appointed

At present, there is only one functional court at the principal bench in the national capital. It comprises Justice Rahim and Justices R S Rathore and S S Garbyal.

Various important matters such as air pollution, rejuvenation of the Ganga and Yamuna rivers, challenge to various redevelopments projects in and the emission fiasco are pending before the

The NGT's functioning has been hit by vacancies with the apex environment watchdog left with less than one-third of its sanctioned strength of 20 officials.

The was established on October 18, 2010 under the Act for effective and expeditious disposal of cases relating to environmental protection and conservation of forests and other natural resources.

The tribunal's principal bench is in New while its zonal benches are in Bhopal, Pune, and and its circuit benches are in Shimla, Shillong, Jodhpur and Kochi.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 09 2018. 11:30 IST