You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Odisha legislators exercise franchise in prez poll

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, leader of the Opposition Narasingha Mishra and legislature party leader K V Singhdeo cast their votes for the presidential poll here today.

As the voting process began in the state Assembly, legislators belonging to different political parties joined the polling process and cast their votes.

Patnaik and Mishra were among the first to cast their votes. The voting process started at 10 am amid tight security.

The other early voters were K V Singhdeo, legislator from Patnagarh, Basant Panda, state unit president and former union minister Dilip Ray.

NDA's presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind is being supported by the ruling BJD in

Kovind was in on July 14 and leaders of BJD and at separate meetings in the state capital.

The candidate could not visit Odisha in the run up to the presidential since her tour was cancelled.

While there are 117 BJD MLAs in the 147-member Odisha Assembly, the Congress has 16 legislators, the BJP 10, the CPI-M and the Samata Kranti Dal have one MLA each.

There are two independent MLAs in the house.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 18:43 IST