You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Over 29.81 lakh voters to decide fate of 24 candidates in Srinagar, Udhampur tomorrow

Press Trust of India  |  Jammu 

Over 29.81 lakh voters will decide the fate of 24 candidates, including former J-K and Jitendra Singh, contesting the and seats, which go to polls in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections on Thursday.

Authorities have deployed over 80 companies for election duty in the twin constituencies of Jammu and Kashmir, officials said.

The twin constituencies have 2,981,083 registered electors, they said.

Twelve candidates each are in fray for both and parliamentary constituencies, the officials said.

To ensure smooth conduct of elections, 4,426 polling stations have been set up in the twin constituencies.

Abdullah is pitched against of the PDP, of the People's Conference and of the BJP.

An said that only 46 rallies were conducted in district, a city of over 12 lakh residents, during the campaign period.

The polling on Thursday will be keenly watched within and outside as the constituency recorded an all-time low of 7.2 per cent voter turn out in the 2017 bye-election, marred by violence on polling day that left nine people dead and scores of others injured.

The constituency is spread over 15 assembly segments comprising three districts of central Kashmir-Ganderbal, Srinagar and with 1,295,304 registered voters, the officials said.

The authorities have set up 1,716 polling stations across the parliamentary constituency.

In the 2017 by-elections, the electoral strength in the constituency was 1,261,395.

National Conference's won the by-elections after defeating his close rival of the People's (PDP) by 10,766 votes. The seat was left vacant after Tariq Hamid Karra's resignation.

Prominent candidates include who is seeking re-election on a BJP ticket, Dogra dynasty scion Vikramaditya Singh fighting as a candidate, Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan founder and

The constituency is spread over 17 assembly segments comprising six districts of Kishtwar, Doda, Ramban, Reasi, and Kathua.

The Udhampur parliamentary seat has 16, 85,779 electors.

For the smooth conduct of election, the has established 2,710 polling stations.

In the 2014 general election, the number of voters in the constituency was 14,69,072.

The last was won by of the BJP by defeating his nearest rival of the Singh secured 487,369 votes while Azad managed to bag 426,393 votes.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 17 2019. 18:20 IST