You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Polls 2019: Varanasi to vote on May 19; Gandhi bastions on May 6

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

With the sounding the bugle for elections, the date sheet shows constituency represented by voting last on May 19 while a number of high-profile seats including of and his mother will vote on May 6.

Voting in Lucknow, which elected in 2014, would also vote on May 6 and so will be the case for another Ram Vilas Paswan's Hajipur constituency.

Vadodara, which had also elected Modi in the 2014 general elections, will go to vote on April 23 and so will Puri in Odisha, which is being widely rumoured as another seat from which the can fight the 2019 elections. However, there has been no official word from the BJP on this.

BJP's Lal Krishna Advani's Gandhinagar constituency in will also vote on April 23, the same day when polling will take place in Pilibhit, currently represented by Her son Varun Gandhi's Sultanpur constituency will vote on May 12.

Mainpuri, one of the two seats that elected Mulayam Singh Yadav in 2014, will also vote on April 23, while voting in Azamgarh, which the senior retained, will happen on May 12. Kannauj, which elected his in 2014, will vote on April 29.

Firebrand saffron party Uma Bharati's Jhansi Murli Manohar Joshi's constituency will also vote on April 29, while Vidisha, which elected in 2014, will go to polls on May 12.

leader Jyotiraditya Scindia's Guna seat in will vote on May 12. The Rahul Gandhi's Amethi seat and Sonia Gandhi's will vote on May 6.

Amritsar, from where lost in 2014, will vote on May 19.

During the entire poll schedule of more than one month, the first phase voting will take place on April 11 and the last seventh phase on May 19.

Counting of votes will happen on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 10 2019. 21:55 IST