You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

RS term of Smriti Irani, Yechury set to end in July-August

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The term of several prominent faces in the Rajya Sabha, including Union Minister Smriti Irani, CPI(M) general secretary and leader Derek O'Brien, is set to end in July and August.

The Commission has announced elections to ten seats in the from three states on June 8 for which a formal notification would be issued on May 22.

Out of the ten retiring members, four are from Congress, three from Congress, two from and one from the (M).

While the term of Shantaram Naik (Cong, Goa) is coming to an end on July 28, the retirement of Ahmed Patel (Cong), Dilipbhai Pandya (BJP) and Irani (BJP) -- all from -- is due on August 18.

The tenure of members from -- Derek O'Brien (TMC), Debabrata Bandhopadhyay (TMC), Pradip Bhattacharya (Cong), (CPI-M), Sukhenduhakhar Roy (TMC) and Dola Sen (TMC) are also ending on August 18.

Since the Presidential polls are due before July 24, these members will be able to cast their ballot in the as their retirement is due after that.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, May 17 2017. 20:07 IST