Business Standard

Sena posturing: BJP enlists support of three Independent MLAs


Press Trust of India Mumbai
In its bid to rob the Shiv Sena of its bargaining power to get a bigger pie in power, the BJP which returned at the helm in recently-held Maharashtra assembly elections with a weakened tally on Sunday enlisted support of three Independent MLAs.
While Geeta Jain and Rajendra Raut announced their support for the BJP after meeting Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis at his residence here, another MLA Ravi Rana, also an Independent, has written a letter to this effect.
A BJP rebel, Jain had defeated the party's official nominee Narendra Mehta from Mira-Bhayandar seat in Thane district in the October 21 elections, results of which were announced on October 24.
Raut, also a BJP rebel, won against Shiv Sena's official candidate Dilip Sopal from Barshi seat in Solapur district.
Rana trounced his nearest rival Priti Band of the Shiv Sena.
Interestingly, Rana's wife Navneet Kaur-Rana is the Independent MP from Amravati Lok Sabha constituency in Maharashtra who is backed by the Sharad Pawar-led NCP.
The Sena won 56 seats, seven less than in 2014, in the 288-member House.
The Sena has more leverage now as the BJP, whose tally came down from 122 in 2014 to 105, needs it more to cross the halfway mark of 144.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Oct 27 2019 | 11:35 PM IST

Explore News