You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Senior officials of RCEP countries to meet in Bangkok on May 24


Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Senior officials of the 16-member RCEP group, who are negotiating a mega free trade agreement, will hold meetings in Bangkok from May 24 to iron out issues pertaining to the goods and services sector, an official said.

"It is not a full-fledged round but an inter-sessional meeting, where senior officials would hold detailed discussions on issues of the proposed Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) agreement," the official added.

The meeting assumes significance as the member countries are aiming to conclude the negotiations by end of this year.

A joint statement issued after a ministerial meeting of RCEP trade ministers in March in Cambodia has said that in order to ensure progress is made towards meeting the leaders' mandate for conclusion in 2019, the ministers agreed to intensify engagement for the remainder of the year (including by convening more inter-sessional meetings).

The proposed free trade agreement, which is officially dubbed as RCEP, to cover goods, services, investments, economic and technical cooperation, competition and intellectual property rights to boost economic ties between the countries.

Although the negotiations have entered the sixth year, negotiations on key issues are yet to be finalised. The member nations have yet to finalise the number of goods over which duties will be eliminated.

RCEP members want India to eliminate or significantly reduce customs duties on maximum number of goods it traded with them. India's huge domestic market provides immense opportunity of exports for RCEP countries.

However, domestic industries from sectors including metals, pharma and food processing have raised serious concerns over the presence of China in the grouping, with which India has a huge trade deficit.

RCEP bloc includes 10 countries of ASEAN (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam) and their six free trade pact partners namely Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea and New Zealand.

India already has a free trade agreement with ASEAN group, Singapore, Japan and Korea. It is also negotiating separate agreements with Australia and New Zealand.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, April 22 2019. 14:30 IST