You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Team Honda rider Sarath Kumar grabs pole

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

: International rider (Idemitsu Ten10 Racing) turned on the power to grab his maiden pole position in the (165cc) class to kick-start his campaign in the third round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT track at nearby Sriperumbudur today.

In the process, Sarath, fourth in the championship, upstaged his two arch-rivals from TVS Racing, K Y Ahamed and defending champion Jagan Kumar with a flying lap of 01min, 55. 506 secs, but just two-tenths of a second separating the trio.

and another rider was placed fifth behind TVS Racings

The quickest rider on the day was Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) who took the pole position in the Pro-Stock (301-400cc) category, with a best lap of 01:54.808 seconds.

He was ahead of the top two in this class, Gusto Racing team-mates Satyanarayana Raju (01:55.141) and Amarnath Menon (01:55.634).

Incidentally, it was Arunagiris first pole position in any category in six years.

Mithun Kumar of Idemitsu Ten10 Racing, with 21 points from four starts this season, finally made his presence felt by qualifying for pole position in the Pro-Stock 165cc class that was run on MRF slick tyres for the first time.

Completing the front row were (Rockers Racing) and in this class, (Idemitsu Racing).

(Sparks Racing), unbeaten this season and seeking to consolidate her position at the top of the leaderboard, was quickest in the Girls (Stock 165cc) category.

(Team Alisha Abdullah) and Shruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) qualified in second and third spots, respectively.

Also taking pole positions in the MMSC One-Make Championships for Novice riders were Hyderabads Karthik Mateti (TVS, Apache RTR 200) and Chennais (Idemitsu Honda Talent Cup, CBR 150).

Results (Qualifying): Indian (165cc): 1.

(Idemitsu Racing) (01min, 55.506secs); 2. KY Ahamed (TVS Racing) (01:55.629); 3. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (01:55.710).

Pro-Stock (301-400cc): 1.Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) (01:54.808); 2. Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing India) (01:55.141); 3. Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing India) (01:55.634).

Pro-Stock (165cc): 1. Mithun Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing) (02:00.842); 2. (Team Rockers) (02:01.386); 3. (Idemitsu Racing) (02:01.


Girls (Stock, 165cc): 1. (Sparks Racing) (02:33.514); 2. (Team Abdullah) (02:33.561); 3. Shruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) (02:37.037).

MMSC One-Make Championship (Novice) TVS Apache RTR 200: 1. (Hyderabad) (02:16.667); 2. (02:18.707); 3. Anand R (02:19.394).

Talent Cup (CBR 150): 1. Mohamed Mikail (Chennai) (02:08.584); 2. (Karnataka) (02:09.269);3.Akshay V M (Kerala) (02:11.660).

Girls (TVS Apache 200): 1. (Chennai) (02:21. 724); 2. (02:21.885); (Mumbai) (02:28.545).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, August 31 2018. 21:01 IST