You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Honda's Sethu outwits Jagan Kumar;2 riders hurt in crashes

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Teenager of Racing won a tense battle against his arch-rival and defending champion (TVS Racing) in the 165cc class in the second round of MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship today.

The events held at the MMRT track at Sriperumbudur near here also saw two big crashes, resulting in to a man from Telangana, who is in a 'critical' but 'stable' condition at a hospital, and a woman rider.

Bengaluru's 23-year old survived a close battle to finish on top in the Pro-Stock 165cc class. It was Shettys third win in a row, this season.

The combined race of and Pro-Stock 165cc was reduced from six laps to four following a heavy crash before turn-3 resulting in a red flag on the very first lap.

One of the riders involved in the incident, 21-year old (Sparks Racing) from Karimnagar, Telangana, was immediately rushed to hospital where he is said to be in a critical, but stable condition after suffering multiple injuries, organisers said in a release.

After the re-start, it was a virtual sprint as Sethu, starting second on the grid behind Jagan Kumar, played a waiting game before the ran wide in the penultimate lap.

It was just the opening Sethu was waiting for, and he made his move and, held position for his first win of the season. Jagan crossed the finish line in second position, followed by Sarath Kumar (Racing) to complete the podium.

Chennais of Sparks Racing notched her second consecutive win in as many outings this season in the Girls (Stock, 165cc) championship race with ease while experienced (Team Alisha Abdullah) and Sruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) finished second and third, respectively.

The day ended with another big crash, this time in the girls race of the TVS One-Make Championship as RC Czimkhy fell and was taken to the hospital with Her condition is said to be stable.

Results (Provisional all 6 laps unless mentioned): (165cc, 4 laps) Race 1: 1. (Honda Ten 10 Racing) (07min, 51.210sec); 2. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (07:53.966); 3. Sarath Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (07:54.735).

Pro-Stock (165cc, 4 laps) Race 1: 1. (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (08: 36.405); 2. Senthil Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (08:36.455); 3. (RACR) (08:37.318).

Girls (Novice, 165cc, 5 laps): 1. AS (Sparks Racing) (11:35.960); 2. (Team Alisha Abdullah) (11:38.525); 3. Sruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing) (11:38.649).

Talent Cup 2018 organised by MMSC

Open (CBR 250cc, 6 laps) Race 1: 1. (12:39.833); 2. (12:39.963); 3. (12:40.409).

Novice (CBR 150cc) Race 1: 1. (13:10.085); 2. (Kerala) (13:27.386); 3. Anandhu KK (Chennai) (13:38.297).

TVS One-Make Championship Open (Apache R310) Race 1: 1. (Calicut) (12:22.067); 2. (Chennai) (12:22.529); 3. (Chennai) (12: 22.811).

Novice (Apache 200) Race 1: 1. (Hyderabad) (13:41.697); 2. Anand R (Chennai) (13:52.409); 3. Venkatesan (Chennai) (13:58.514).

Girls (Apache 200, 5 laps): 1. Ryhana Bee (Chennai) (11:46.202); 2. (Chennai) (11:47.052); 3. (Mumbai) (12:21.837).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, July 07 2018. 19:25 IST