Business Standard

Tripura power minister, deputy speaker file nominations


Press Trust of India Agartala
Tripura power Minister Manik Dey and Assembly Deputy Speaker Pabitra Kar today filed their nominations from Majlishpur and Khayerpur constituencies, respectively, for the 60-seat Tripura Assembly elections to be held on February 18.

The ruling CPI(M) spokesperson and central committee member Gautam Das said that except for one candidate from Khowai constituency, all the candidates of the Left Front including Chief Minister Manik Sarkar and eleven other ministers have completed filing nominations from different constituencies.

He said Biswajit Datta, a sitting MLA from Khowai constituency, suddenly fell ill yesterday and was admitted to the Agartala Medical College following cardiac problems. Since he is in the intensive care unit of the hospital, the party has decided to field Mrinal Biswas, former state secretary of SFI from Khowai constituency, who will file his nomination tomorrow.

Media in-charge of BJP, Victor Shom said the BJP candidates would file their nominations tomorrow.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jan 30 2018 | 8:15 PM IST

Explore News