You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Voting begins for last phase Lok Sabha polls

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Polling began Sunday morning for 59 seats in the seventh and last phase of polls to decide the fate of 918 candidates including Narendra Modi, who is seeking to retain the seat in

Voting is underway in all 13 seats in and an equal number of seats in Uttar Pradesh, nine in West Bengal, eight seats each in and Madhya Pradesh, four in Himachal Pradesh, three in and the lone seat Chandigarh.

Over 10.01 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise. The has set up more than 1.12 lakh polling stations and has deployed security personnel for smooth conduct of polls.

A bypoll is being held in Panaji, necessitated due to the death of former in March. Bye-elections are also be held in four assembly constituencies of -- Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC) and Thiruparankundram -- and the Dehri assembly seat in

In Uttar Pradesh, all eyes are on Varanasi, where besides Modi, 25 other candidates are in fray. Modi's main challengers are Congress's and SP-BSP grand alliance's nominee

Union Manoj Sinha, BJP are seeking re-election from Ghazipur and Chandauli respectively.

and union ministers Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Hardeep Singh Puri are among the 278 candidates including 24 women whose fate is being decided in

Besides Punjab, more than 6 lakh voters in the union territory of Chandigarh will choose between sitting and BJP candidate and former railway minister and candidate

Sunny Deol, chief Sunil Jakhar, Aam Aadmi Party's Punjab are among other prominent candidates in the fray.

An electorate of 1,49,63,064 will decide the fate of 111 candidates in nine seats of -- Kolkata North and Kolkata South, Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jadavpur, Diamond Harbour, Jaynagar (SC) and Mathurapur (SC).

As many as four Union ministers -- Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ram Kripal Yadav, RK Singh and Ashwini Kumar Choubey -- are among the 157 candidates in

The electoral fortunes of 42 candidates including that of former and are being decided in

Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsaur, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, and seats in Madhya Pradesh, all currently held by the BJP, are going to polls in

Polling is also being held in all four constituencies in

An average of 66.88 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the last six phases. The whole elections were spread over 38 days. Counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 19 2019. 07:15 IST