You are here: Home » Sports » India Australia Series » News

India vs Australia 1st ODI highlights: Australia beats India by 66 runs

Though there was a rearguard action from Hardik Pandya, who got his highest ODI score (90 off 76 balls) and added 128 runs for the fifth wicket with opener Shikhar Dhawan (74 off 86)

India vs Australia | India cricket team | Australia cricket team

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In the first of the three-match One Day International (ODI) series, Australia defeated India by 66 runs at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Friday to take a 1-0 lead in the three-game series.

Though there was a rearguard action from Hardik Pandya, who got his highest ODI score (90 off 76 balls) and added 128 runs for the fifth wicket with opener Shikhar Dhawan (74 off 86), Australia's total of 374 for six wickets in 50 overs, their highest against India in one-dayers, proved too daunting. India finished at 308 for eight wickets in 50 overs.

India lost their first three wickets inside the first 10 overs to lose momentum. Both Agarwal and fellow opener Shikhar Dhawan had given India a turbo-charged start with a 53-run opening stand in just over five overs. But then Hazlewood struck with three short-pitched deliveries to dent India's march, picking Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer.

Earlier, skipper and Steve Smith scored centuries to lead Aussie charge, after Australia won the toss.

Finch made 114 from 124 deliveries with the help of nine 4s and two 6s while Smith scored 105 off just 66 balls -- with 11x4s and four 6s -- as the hosts took heavy toll on hapless Indian bowlers who had no option to fall back on.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was the most severely hit, going for 89 in his 10-over spell. He could pick just one wicket. Chahal's are the most number of runs conceded by an Indian spinner on ODIs, going worse than 85 that another leg-spinner, Piyush Chawla, conceded in his 10 overs against Pakistan in 2008.

Electing to bat, the hosts started steadily with both Finch and David Warner taking their time to adjust to the pitch. However, once they got settled, there was no looking back as the pair shared a 156-run opening wicket partnership in 27.5 overs.

During the course of the partnership, Finch became the second-fastest Australian to score 5,000 ODI runs (126 innings, 11 more than Warner).

India got their first breakthrough as Warner got out against Mohammed Shami after playing a well-rounded 69-run knock, with the help of six 4s.

Smith, who came in next, started right from the word go and scored runs quickly, adding 108 runs with Finch.

Finch, the Australia skipper, was dismissed by Jasprit Bumrah after he got to his 17th ODI hundred.

Glenn Maxwell, who had failed miserably in the IPL, came good and smashed the Indian bowlers. Maxwell used switch-hit and reverse sweep to good effect as he scored 45 runs off just 18 balls (five 4s, three 6s) before getting caught at the long-on boundary off the bowling of Shami.

Why Kohli missed Rohit in ODIs, T20Is

IND vs AUS scorecard: Indian innings

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Mayank Agarwal c Maxwell b Hazlewood 22 18 2 1
Shikhar Dhawan c Starc b Zampa 74 86 10 0
Virat Kohli c Finch b Hazlewood 21 21 2 1
Shreyas Iyer c Carey b Hazlewood 2 2 0 0
KL Rahul c Smith b Zampa 12 15 1 0
Hardik Pandya c Starc b Zampa 90 76 7 4
Ravindra Jadeja c Starc b Zampa 25 37 0 1
Navdeep Saini not out 29 35 1 1
Mohammed Shami b Starc 13 10 1 1
Jasprit Bumrah not out 0 3 0 0
Total: 308-6 in 50 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Mitchell Starc 9 0 65 1
Josh Hazlewood 10 0 55 3
Pat Cummins 8 0 52 0
Adam Zampa 10 0 54 4
Marcus Stoinis 6.2 0 25 0
Glenn Maxwell 6.4 0 55 0


scorecard: Australian innings 

Batsman Dismissals Runs Balls Fours Sixes
David Warner c Rahul b Shami 69 76 6 0
Aaron Finch c Rahul b Bumrah 114 124 9 2
Steve Smith b Shami 105 66 11 4
Marcus Stoinis c Rahul b Chahal 0 1 0 0
Glenn Maxwell c Jadeja b Shami 45 19 5 3
Marnus Labuschagne c Dhawan b Saini 2 2 0 0
Alex Carey not out 17 13 2 0
Pat Cummins not out 1 1 0 0
Total: 374-6 in 50 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Mohammed Shami 10 0 59 3
Jasprit Bumrah 10 0 72 1
Navdeep Saini 10 0 83 1
Yuzvendra Chahal 10 0 89 1
Ravindra Jadeja 10 0 63 0

Stay tuned for highlights here…


Auto Refresh