You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020 Qualifier 2 DC vs SRH highlights: DC wins, enters maiden IPL final

Delhi Capitals now take on defending IPL champions Mumbai Indians on Tuesday (November 10)

IPL 2020 | Delhi Capitals | IPL Champions

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Shikhar Dhawan's fiery half-century and Marcus Stoinis' all-round show carried into its maiden IPL final as Shreyas Iyer-led side survived some anxious moments before prevailing by 17 runs in the second Qualifier at Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Sunday.

Breathtaking counter-attacking knocks by (67) and Abdul Samad (33) threatened to dash hopes but Stoinis' timely dismissal of the Kiwi batsman tilted it in his side's favour.

The Capitals will now challenge for the title on Tuesday, having lost to them in the first Qualifier.

In-form smashed 78 off 49 balls to help the Capitals post a challenging 189 for three after electing to bat.

Stoinis, who was promoted to open the innings, added 86 runs with Dhawan and later took three wickets for 26 runs in SRH's run chase.

Every move of Capitals worked on Sunday as Shimron Hetmyer, who was brought in, also contributed in team's win with his unbeaten 42-run knock.

Qualifier 1: SRH full scorecard

Priyam Garg b Stoinis 17 12 0 2
David Warner b Rabada 2 3 0 0
Manish Pandey c Nortje b Stoinnis 21 14 2 0
Kane Williamson c Rabada b Stoinis 67 45 5 4
Jason Holder c Praveen b Axar 11 15 1 0
Abdul Samad c Sub Paul b Rabada 33 16 2 2
Rashid Khan c Axar b Rbada 11 7 1 1
Shreevats Goswami c Stoinis b Rabada 0 1 0 0
Shahbaz Nadeem not out 2 3 0 0
Sandeep Sharma not out 2 4 0 0
Total: 172-8 in 20 Overs
Bowler Over Maiden Runs Wickets
R Ashwin 3 0 34 0
Kagiso Rabada 4 0 29 4
Anrich Nortje 4 0 36 1
Marus Stoinis 3 0 26 3
Axar Patel 4 0 33 1
Praveen Dubey 2 0 14 0

Rabada got rid of dangerous (2) with his first ball to give the Capitals the start they wanted.

Manish Pandey (21) and Priyam garg (17) stroked the ball beautifully and with confidence in their small 31-run stand but Stoinis dismissed both of them in the space of three balls. The three wickets inside five overs pegged SRH back.

DC spin duo of Axar Patel and Pravin Dubey also bowled well as they kept control over the proceedings.

Williamson and kept the scoreboard ticking with ones, twos and the odd boundaries.

Qualifier 2: full scorecard

Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Marcus Stoinis b Rashid 38 27 5 1
Shikhar Dhawan lbw b Sandeep 78 50 6 2
Shreyas Iyer c Pandey b Holder 22 20 1 0
Shimron Hetmyer not out 42 22 4 1
Rishabh Pant not out 2 3 0 0
Total: 189-3 in 20 Overs
Bowler Over Maiden Runs Wickets
Sandeep Sharma 4 0 28 1
Jason Holder 4 0 50 1
Shahbaz Nadeem 4 0 48 0
Rashid Khan 4 0 26 1
T Natarajan 4 0 32 0


The Kiwi batsman began hitting with remarkable ease and his strong game against the spinners kept SRH in the hunt. Holder though got out while attempting a big shot off Patel.

Williamson completed his fifty with a single off Patel. He got good support from Abdul Samad, who smashed Nortje for two fours and a six.

SRH needed 61 from last five overs and required Williamson to do the job. He was sent by back Stoinis, getting him out off a widish ball that he hit straight to Rabada at deep cover.

Rabada (4/29) then ran through the SRH lower order to seal the match for the Capitals.

Earlier, skipper (21) could not do much. Dhawan, in his well-paced innings, hit six fours and two sixes. He added 52 runs for the third wicket with Hetmyer before being dismissed by seamer Sandeep Sharma (1/30).

SRH's sloppy fielding also helped Capitals as they dropped Stoinis early in the innings and gave them a few free runs. SRH also dropped Dhawan towards the end, though it did not cost them much.

Yet again, Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan (4-0-26-1) was the most effective bowler though T Natarajan bowled well in slog overs.

Stoinis, after being dropped by off Sandeep at short mid-on, punished the SRH bowlers with a flurry of boundaries.

Stoinis, on three at that time, was nicely set up by Sandeep but the opportunity was not taken.

It was Holder, who was then taken to task by Stoinis, who creamed off 18 runs from the West Indian's over with three fours and a six.

Sandeep was initially impeccable with his length balls but drifted afterwards and was punished by Dhawan.

In-came spinner Shabaz Nadeem to bowl the last Powerplay over and ended up leaking 14 runs as DC reached 65 for no loss.

Warner shuffled his bowlers around, handing the ball to Rashid and Natarajan. The Afghan spinner got them the breakthrough with his eighth ball by castling Stoinis.

Dhawan raised his fifty with a six off Nadeem.

Iyer struggled to time the ball and was soon dismissed by Holder.

Qualifier 2: DC vs SRH playing 11

Delhi Capitals dropped and Daniel Sams and picked Leggie Pravin Dubey and hard hitting batsman . Meanwhile, made no changes in its playing 11.

DC playing 11: Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Praveen Dubey, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje.

SRH playing 11: David Warner(c), Shreevats Goswami(w), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Jason Holder, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan.


Auto Refresh