Business Standard
You are here » Home » Sunrisers Hyderabad


Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is a Hyderabad-based Indian Premier league (IPL) franchise. The home ground of Sunrisers Hyderabad is Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, which has a capacity of nearly 60,000. However, Sunrisers won’t play any match at its home ground as in IPL 2021 all the matches are scheduled to take place at neutral venues. Notably, Hyderabad is not a venue in IPL 2021 as BCCI decided to restrict the marquee tournament to a few venues in the wake of coronavirus pandemic.
SRH owners
Sunrisers Hyderabad is owned by Kalanithi Maran of Sun TV Network. SRH was founded after the Deccan Chargers team was terminated in 2012.
SRH’s performance in IPL history
How it started
SRH went to the playoffs in its debut IPL season but failed to continue its performance in subsequent tournaments; it finished 6th in 2014 and 2015.
SRH’s moment of glory
The Hyderabad-based franchise won its first IPL title under the captaincy of David Warner, beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2016 finals.
SRH in IPL 2018
Sunrisers Hyderabad ended its IPL 2018 campaign as a runner-up after losing the final clash against Chennai Super Kings.
IPL 2019
SRH has been one of the consistent side in IPL history as it finds a place in playoffs frequently and one such instance was 2019 edition on Indian Premier League, when it finished the league phase at fourth spot. However, a rechristened Delhi Capitals ended the SRH’s campaign in the eliminator.
IPL 2020
In the previous edition of IPL, SRH ended the league phase of the tournament at third spot on the points table. It was again Delhi Capitals who demolished the dreams of Hyderabad in the playoffs. SRH lost the Qualifier 2 by 17 runs at Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi.
SRH's full schedule for the second phase of IPL 2021:

Date Venue SRH fixture Time (IST)
22-09-2021 Dubai Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 7.30pm
25-09-2021 Sharjah Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Punjab Kings 7.30pm
27-09-2021 Dubai Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals 7.30pm
30-09-2021 Sharjah Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings 7.30pm
3/10/2021 Dubai Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 7.30pm
6/10/2021 Abu Dhabi Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 7.30pm
8/10/2021 Abu Dhabi Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians 3.30pm

Full list of Sunrisers Hyderabad’s IPL 2021 players list, along with their salaries:
Players bought in IPL 2021 auction
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Players name Type Auction price
Kedar Jadhav All-Rounder Rs 2 crore
Mujeeb Zadran Bowler Rs 1.5 crore
J Suchith Bowler Rs 30 lakh
Player Price (Rs cr)
Abdul Samad (uncapped) Rs 20 lakh
Abhishek Sharma Rs 55 lakh
Basil Thampi Rs 95 lakh
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Rs 8.5 crore
David Warner Rs 12.5 crore
Sherfane Bairstow replaces Jonny Bairstow (Rs 2.2 crore) NA
Kane Williamson Rs 3 crore
Khaleel Ahmed Rs 3 crore
Manish Pandey Rs 11 crore
Mitchell Marsh Rs 2 crore
Mohammad Nabi Rs 1 crore
T Natarajan Rs 40 lakh
Priyam Garg (uncapped) Rs 1.9 crore
Rashid Khan Rs 9 crore
Sandeep Sharma Rs 3 crore
Shahbaz Nadeem Rs 3.2 crore
Shreevats Goswami Rs 1 crore
Siddarth Kaul Rs 3.8 crore
Vijay Shankar Rs 3.2 crore
Virat Singh (uncapped) Rs 1.9 crore
Wriddhiman Saha Rs 1.2 crore
Jason Holder NA


Sunrisers Hyderabad In News