Business Standard
You are here » Home » Mumbai Indians


Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians (MI) is the Mumbai-based Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise that plays its home matches at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. It is the only team to win the IPL title five times (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020).
Founded in 2008, Mumbai Indians is owned by India's biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its subsidiary IndiaWin Sports.
Mumbai Indians in IPL 2018
The team had a disastrous start to IPL 2018, as it lost 5 of its 6 matches. However, Rohit Sharma-led side excelled in the later half of the tournament, though that was not enough to book a place in the playoffs.
Mumbai Indians in IPL 2019
Mumbai Indians won its forth IPL title under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, defeating Chennai Super Kings in a nail-biting encounter.
IPL 2020
Mumbai won its fifth IPL title in 2020 as it defeated Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets in the final. MI ended the league stage with nine wins in 14 matches and emerged as the top team on the points table.
IPL 2021 mini auction

Ahead of the IPL 2021 players' auction, MI has released seven players including Malinga, Kiwi quick Mitchell McClenaghan, Australians Nathan Coulter-Nile and James Pattinson, Guyanese Sherfane Rutherford, uncapped leg-spinner Prince Balwant Rai and fast bowler Digvijay Deshmukh from the team.

The five-time champions now have 18 players in their squad, with seven spots open which can be filled in the mini-auction, scheduled for February 18, 2021.

Know about Mumbai Indians’ list of retained players and remaining purse here: 
  • Number of players: 18
  • Number of Overseas players: 4
  • Total money spent: Rs 69.65 cr
  • Salary cap available: Rs 15.35 cr
  • Available slot: 8
  • Overseas slot: 2
Retained players list: Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Chris Lynn, Anmolpreet Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Aditya Tare, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mohsin Khan.

Players bought in IPL 2021 auction:

Mumbai Indians
Players name Type Auction price
Nathan Coulter-Nile Bowler Rs 5,00,00,000
Adam Milne Bowler Rs 3,20,00,000
Piyush Chawla Bowler Rs 2,40,00,000
James Neesham All-Rounder Rs 50,00,000
Yudhvir Charak All-Rounder Rs 20,00,000
Marco Jansen All-Rounder Rs 20,00,000
Arjun Tendulkar All-Rounder Rs 20,00,000

Mumbai Indians' squad, along with players salaries, for IPL 2021 ahead of mini auction:

Player Team Retained/bought/traded Price (Rs cr)
Aditya Tare MI Retained 0.20
Anmolpreet Singh MI Retained 0.80
Anukul Roy MI Retained 0.20
Chris Lynn MI Bought 2.00
Dhawal Kulkarni MI Traded in 0.75
Hardik Pandya MI Retained 11.00
Ishan Kishan MI Retained 6.20
Jasprit Bumrah MI Retained 7.00
Jayant Yadav MI Retained 0.50
Kieron Pollard MI Retained 5.40
Krunal Pandya MI Retained 8.80
Mohsin Khan (uncapped) MI Bought 0.20
Quinton de Kock MI Retained 2.80
Rahul Chahar MI Retained 1.90
Rohit Sharma MI Retained 15.00
Saurabh Tiwary MI Bought 0.50
Suryakumar Yadav MI Retained 3.20
Trent Boult MI Traded in 3.20


Mumbai Indians In News