You are here: Home » Education » News
Business Standard

Know about Universities in India and the different types

The Oxford dictionary defines 'University' as a high-level educational institution

Sagar Mavani 

H-1B visa row: Applications up 20-35 per cent in domestic campuses

The Oxford dictionary defines ‘University’ as a high-level educational institution in which students study for degrees and academic research is done. Etymologically, ‘university’ is derived from the Latin universitas magistrorum et scholarium, which crudely means "community of teachers and scholars." During medieval times, association of students and teachers with collective legal rights given by princes and statesmen or the towns in which such associations were located came to be known as

India’s higher system works at both private and public level Public function under the directives issued by the Government of and the state governments whereas private function under various approved educational bodies and societies. The Grants Commission (UGC), the highest educational authority, recognizes and awards the ‘universal’ status to various The UGC draws its power from the Grants Commission Act, 1956. Along with the UGC, 15 Professional Councils are also established, in charge of different parts of accreditation and coordination.

Types of in India:
Central University: Central aka Union is established by an Act of Parliament and is under the purview of the Department of Higher (DHE) in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. The UGC lists 46 central such as Rajiv Gandhi University, Nalanda University, Indira Gandhi National Open University, of Delhi etc.

State University: A State functions under the directives issued by the government of a particular state. It is established by a local legislative assembly act. On February 9, 2017, the UGC has recognized 358 state universities, including the oldest ones such as the of Mumbai, the of Madras and the of Calcutta active since their establishment back in 1857. Colleges affiliated to such generally offer a range of undergraduate (UG) courses as well as post-graduate (PG) courses.

Deemed University: The nomenclature ‘Deemed’ generally creates confusion in the common man’s mind. It is a that receives an autonomous status given by the Department of Higher (DHE) with the advice and approval of the UGC (Section 3 of the UGC Act). On February 9, 2017, the UGC listed 122 Deemed including the Indian Institute of Science, being the first in the list that was granted deemed on 12 May 1958. Examples of Deemed include Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (Andhra Pradesh), Indian Agricultural Research Institute (Delhi), Gujarat Vidyapith (Gujarat), International Institute of Information Technology (Karnataka),
Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (Maharashtra) and the like.

Private University: A private is approved by the UGC. It is allowed to award degrees but not allowed to have off-campus affiliated colleges. On February 9, 2017, the UGC listed 258 private Examples include Assam Don Bosco (Assam), Ahmedabad (Gujarat), Maharishi Markandeshwar (Haryana), Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts of (Jharkhand) etc.

In total, there are 785 in the country with Rajasthan having the most (73), Tamil Nadu having most Deemed (28), Gujarat having the most state (28), West Bengal with state (26), Uttar Pradesh having state (26) and central (6) and Delhi having central (5). Alongside these universities, there are other educational institutions (with no affiliated colleges), not officially called ‘universities’ but are allowed to grant degrees. They can be called as ‘autonomous institutes’ under the control of the Department of Higher Examples include the Indian Institutes of Information Technology, Indian Institutes of Technology, the National Institutes of Technology, the various branches of the All Institute of Medical Sciences, the Indian Institutes of Science and Research, the Indian Institutes of Management (though these award diplomas, not degrees)[15] and other autonomous institutes. In August 2015, had a total of 18 IITs, the Indian School of Mines, 32 NITs, 18 state-funded technical institutes and 18 IIITs.

First Published: Tue, July 04 2017. 09:37 IST