You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Delhi Metro: Janakpuri-Kalkaji part of Magenta Line to open soon; 10 points

The launch of the Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir section will bring down travel time between Noida and Gurugram to around 50 minutes

BS Web Team 

Magenta Line of Delhi Metro

Delhi Metro's Magenta Line is set to become fully operational on May 29, a day after the inauguration of its 25.6-km stretch connecting Janakpuri West and Kalkaji Mandir metro stations.

The launch of the new segement will drastically reduce travel time between West Delhi and South Delhi, Gurugram, Faridabad and Noida, while also de-congesting the Blue Line.

Here is all that you need to know about the latest segment of the Delhi Metro:

1. Passenger services on the new segment will begin on May 29 at 6 am from the Kalkaji Mandir and Janakpuri West stations simultaneously.

2. The opening up of the new segment of Magenta Line would reduce the travel time between Hauz Khas and Janakpuri West by up to 25 minutes.

3. For Noida to Gurugram commuters, the travel time will come down to around 50 minutes from the present time of around 90 minutes.

4. According to a senior DMRC official, the corridor will be inaugurated by Union Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs (Independent Charge) Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister on May 28 at 4.30 pm at the Nehru Enclave metro station.

5. This section will be the longest stretch to have been opened so far in Rail Corporation's (DMRC's) Phase-III project.

Part of Delhi Metro route map | Photo courtesy: Delhi Metro official website

Part of route map | Photo courtesy: official website

6. The highlights of the Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir corridor will be the two new interchange facilities at -- Janakpuri West (with the Dwarka-Noida/Vaishali Blue Line) and Hauz Khas (with the HUDA City Centre-Samaypur Badli Yellow line).

7. The new corridor will provide direct connectivity to the domestic terminal of the IGI airport from Noida.

8. The segment will have 16 stations -

  • Janakpuri West
  • Dabri Mor
  • Dashrathpuri
  • Palam
  • Sadar Bazar
  • Terminal 1IGI Airport
  • Shankar Vihar
  • Vasant Vihar
  • Munirka
  • R K Puram
  • Hauz Khas
  • IIT
  • Panchsheel Park
  • Chirag Delhi
  • G K Enclave
  • Nehru Enclave

9. Out of the 16 stations, only two - Sadar Bazar and Shankar Vihar will be elevated. The rest will be underground.

10. The DMRC will be running 24 trains in the Magneta Line once the Janakpuri West-Kalkaji Mandir stretch gets operational, a senior DMRC official said.

With agency inputs

First Published: Tue, May 22 2018. 11:37 IST