You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National

LIVE: Mamata urges EC to conduct remaining West Bengal phases in one go

Competition Commission approves acquisition of DHFL by Piramal Capital & Housing Finance. Stay tuned for Latest LIVE news

UP Election | top news of the day | Today News

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Voting for the first of the four-phase Uttar Pradesh panchayat elections, seen as a semi-final to the 2022 Assembly election, will be held today in 18 districts with ballot papers.

More than 333,000 candidates in the fray in over 221,000 seats in the first phase for the posts of zila panchayat (district council) members, kshetra (block) panchayat members, village panchayat heads and wards.

Polling will take place from 7 am to 6 pm.

The districts that will go to polls are Ayodhya, Agra, Kanpur, Ghaziabad, Gorakhpur, Jaunpur, Jhansi, Allahabad, Bareilly, Bhadohi, Mahoba, Rampur, Raebareli, Shravasti, Sant Kabir Nagar, Saharanpur, Hardoi and Hathras.

Apart from parties like the BJP, BSP, Samajwadi Party and the Congress, among those in the race are the AIMIM, Aam Aadmi Party and Bhim Army chief Chandra Shekhar Aazad's Azad Samaj Party, which are making their debut in the state.

Stay tuned for the latest news of the day.


Auto Refresh

First Published: Thu, April 15 2021. 06:58 IST