You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

17 first-time MPs from Rajasthan debut in Parliament

Press Trust of India  |  Jaipur 

Seventeen first-time from and will represent in Parliament this time.  

The new faces in the House will have 14 from Congress, two from and one independent.   

The who will make their debut in Parliament, include Jitendra Singh (Alwar), Harish Choudhary (Barmer), Ratan Singh (Bharatpur) and Bharat Ram Meghwal (Ganganagar-SC).  

The two newcomers from the are Arjun Ram Meghwal (Bikaner) and Devji Patel (Jalore), and one independent Kirori Meena (Dausa).  Besides, three of the five women candidates fielded by the also won at the hustings.   

Girja Vyas won the Chittorgarh seat by defeating sitting BJP MP Srichand Kripalini. The other two are Chandresh Kumari from Jodhpur and Jyoti Mirdha from Nagaur seat who defeated Jaswant Singh Vishnoi and Bindu Choudhary of BJP respectively.  

Chandresh Kumari, who was a former Himachal Pradesh minister, is a member of the Jodhpur royal family.   

The old faces who retained their seats are Union Minister for Mines Sheesh Ram Ola, who won from Jhunjhunu, and Minister of State for Forest and Environment Namonarayan Meena from Tonk-Swaimadhopur.Congress had fielded three sitting MPs, Sachin Pilot, Namonarayan Meena and Sheesh Ram Ola.  

Sachin Pilot emerged victorious from Ajmer defeating saffron party sitting MP Kiran Maheswari with a margin of 76,135 votes. Congress nominee and former MP Tara Chand Bhagora won from Banswara-ST constituency.  

The highest margin of 1,99,418 votes was recorded by Bhagora who defeated Hkaru Maida of BJP While Union Minister Meena scraped through by the lowest margin of 317 votes.   

The other Congress MPs, who made a successful entry to the House are Mahesh Joshi (Jaipur), Lalchand Kataria (Jaipur), Khiladi Lal Bairwa (Karauli-Dholpur), Ijyaraj Singh (Kota), Gopal Singh (Rajsamand), C P Joshi (Bhilwara), Jyoti Mirdha (Nagaur), Badri Ram Jakhar (Pali), Raghuveer Singh Meena (Udaipur) and Mahadev Singh (Sikar).   

The two women Congress candidates, who lost the electoral battle are Sandhya Choudhary, who lost the Jalore seat, and wife of the state PWD minister Pramod Jain Bhaya, Urmila Jain Bhaya who contested from Jhalawar-Baran parliamentary constituency.

First Published: Tue, May 19 2009. 09:55 IST