You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

250 lawmakers, activists write to Modi, say MGNREGA fund crunch 'alarming'

Lawmakers and the activists say MGNREGA fund crunch comes when there is distress across rural India.

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 


Lawmakers, activists and farm leaders are among the 250 people who have written a letter to Prime Minister raising their concern over funds for MGNREGA, the country’s main scheme.

The letter urges Modi to strengthen the scheme and "formally include it as part of the set of measures being considered to deal with the current rural and agrarian crisis".

On January 1, over 99 per cent fund of the Mahatma Gandhi National Guarantee Act or scheme was reportedly exhausted, three months before the end of the financial year.

"Despite repeated public statements by your government promising employment and job creation that will boost the country's growth, we are alarmed to note that the country's only employment guarantee is being systematically undermined," the letter read.

"Illegal restrictions on its budget allocation, severe payment delays and low wages are crippling the program and depriving people in distress of one of their most important legally supported structures," it added.

A statement issued Monday by lawmakers and the activists said the fund crunch came amid a situation of distress across rural India with "massive unemployment, declining farm incomes and rising inequality".

A functional right to an employment guarantee at such a time would be a critical means of support for protecting lives and livelihoods of the rural population, it added.

Instead, the implementation of has been subject to persistent attacks by vested interests and power elites at all levels, it said.

The letter was written after a meeting between the lawmakers, activists and civil society members was held to discuss the potential and challenges of in response to rural distress.

Among the signatories of the letter were agriculture scientist MS Swaminathan, artist Mallika Sarabhai, Mary E. John of Centre for Women's Development Studies, Avik Saha of Jai Kisan Andolan, Nikhil Dey of Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan, CPM's Sitaram Yechury, former Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan, Congress' Deepender Singh Hooda and Digvijay Singh, Jignesh Mevani, Yogendra Yadav, JNU professor Jayati Ghosh and activist Aruna Roy.

First Published: Mon, January 14 2019. 23:06 IST