You are here: Home » News
Business Standard

ECI releases list of election symbols of political parties

ECI releases list of election symbols of political parties

Press Trust of India  |  Chandigarh 

ECI releases list of election symbols of political parties

Commission of today released the list of symbols of national, state -recognised, non-recognised and registered political parties and independents for the upcoming elections, here said.

Stating this, CEO Shrikant Walgad said that the ECI had intimated this to the Chief Electoral Officers of all the states and Union Territories.

Information about the symbol is also available on the website of the ECI, he said.

Walgad said that presiding officers and district election officers had been directed to comply with the notification issued by the ECI in this regard while allotting symbols to the candidates.

After the release of notification, a separate notification on political parties to be registered would be issued.

According to the notification, six national-level parties are registered with the ECI - Bahujan Samaj Party, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bhartiya Communist Party, Bhartiya (Marxist), Indian National Congress, and Rashtrawadi Congress Party.

Besides, two state parties - Janhit Congress (BL) and Indian National Lok Dal - are recognised by the ECI from Haryana.

Similarly, the ECI has 1593 non-recognised parties registered under the notification.

It has released 80 election symbols as independent symbols which would be allotted to independent candidates.

Walgad said that 14 non-recognised political parties were also registered with the ECI which included Aarakshan Virodhi Party, Bhartiya Lok Vikas Party, Democratic Dal of Haryana, Haryana Garib Pichdda Yuva Sangathan Party, Haryana Insaaf Congress, Haryana Jan Sangharsh Dal, Haryan Lok Dal, Haryana Nav Nirman Sena, Haryana Samajik Nayaya Party, Haryana Sarvjan Party, Haryana Savtantar Party, Rashtarwadi Parivartan Party (LB), Total Vikas Party and Vikas Parishad.

First Published: Fri, March 14 2014. 19:25 IST