Business Standard

Bypoll results: TMC bags all 3 Bengal seats, BJP wins in Uttarakhand

We dedicate this victory to the people of Bengal. The BJP is getting paid back for its arrogance of power and for insulting the people of Bengal, says Mamata Banerjee

Karad: Voters stand in a queue and show their voting cards as they wait to cast their votes at a polling station for the Maharashtra Assembly elections, in Karad, Monday, Oct. 21, 2019. (PTI Photo)

Avishek Rakshit Kolkata/Dehradun
In a first for 22-year-old Trinamool Congress (TMC), the Mamata Banerjee-led party won the Kharagpur Sadar and Kaliaganj seats, where bypolls were held on November 25. The party also retained the Karimpur seat. The BJP emerged second in all the three seats.

TMC’s Pradip Sarkar wrested Kharagpur Sadar seat from the BJP with a margin of 20,788 votes. Party's Tapan Deb Sinha won the Kaliaganj seat, defeating his nearest BJP's Kamal Chandra Sarkar by 2,418 votes. The TMC candidate for Karimpur, Bimalendu Sinha Roy, won by over 23,910 votes defeating his BJP rival Jaiprakash Majumdar.

The Kharagpur Sadar had been a Congress

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Nov 28 2019 | 11:21 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to