You are here: Home » Elections » Kerala Election » News

Kerala Polls LIVE: 73% votes cast; Tharoor says high turnout favours UDF

Kerala election 2021 LIVE updates: The election is crucial for an array of BJP leaders including former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan, 'Metroman' E Sreedharan

Kerala Elections | Kerala Assembly elections | BJP

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Kerala election 2021: Across Kerala, the response to polling was enthusiastic and, 73 per cent of the electorate had cast their votes so far, said the State Election Commission officials. The fate of 957 candidates would be decided by an electorate of 1,41,62,025 women, 13,283,724 men and 290 transgender voters.

The ruling Left led by its 'Captain' Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan cast his vote at his home town in Kannur and later said, "The writing on the wall was very evident, right from the time the campaign started we could sense the mood of the people and the Left will retain power."

A total of 140 seats will go to polls across the state, and a three-cornered fight between the incumbent Left-led LDF, the Congress-led UDF, and the is likely. An array of ministers and several sitting MLAs from both the traditional coalitions- the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the Congress-headed United Democratic Front (UDF) are seeking another term today.

In the Kerala assembly polls, voting will start at 8 am and end at 6 pm.

Key candidates: Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, health minister KK Shailaja, Devaswom Minister Kadakampally Surendran, Power Minister M M Mani and Higher Education Minister KK Jaleel are among the prominent personalities trying their electoral luck from the ruling side.

Opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala, former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, senior leaders K Muraleedharan, PT Thomas and Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan are among those contesting from the fold.

Stay tuned for Kerala election 2021 LIVE updates


Auto Refresh