You are here: Home » Elections » Kerala Election » News
Business Standard

Kerala polls: Congress fields C Raghunath against Vijayan in Dharmadam

Just a day before the deadline for submitting a nomination in the Kerala assembly poll ends, Raghunath filed nomination as Congress candidate to contest in Dharmadam against Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan

Pinarayi Vijayan  | Kerala Assembly elections | Kerala Assembly Polls


Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan
Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan

Just a day before the deadline for submitting a nomination in the Kerala assembly poll ends, C Raghunath filed his nomination as Congress candidate to contest in Dharmadam against CPI (M) strongman and Kerala Chief Minister

Though earlier, Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) was planning to support the mother of Walayar siblings who is fighting the polls as an independent candidate.

Later Congress state leadership and AICC decided to field their own candidate to take on Vijayan after the BJP and Left in their campaign alleged that 'Congress does not even have candidates to fight Vijayan."

K Sudhakaran, the face of the party in Kannur rejected the proposal to contest from Dharmadam after meeting with District Congress Committee (DCC).

Speaking to reporters in Kannur, Sudhakaran said that KPCC and the High Command had asked his opinion to contest in Dharmadam but he refrained from it.

"I have conveyed my decision not to contest in Dharmadam to the state leadership and also to the High Command. Since I have to campaign across the Kannur district, being working president of KPCC it's not practical to be a candidate at Dharmadam. Also, there was hardly any time for enough preparation as it was asked to me two days back," he said.

C Raghunath is Kannur District Congress Committee secretary and the nomination was filed before the official announcement by the party.

Meanwhile, the mother of Walayar siblings also filed her nomination papers on Thursday to fight against Kerala Chief Minister.

Vijayan who faced the last assembly polls in 2016 from Dharmadam won with a huge majority of 36,905 votes against his rival Mambaram Divakaran of Congress.

Earlier, Vijayan was elected to the Kerala Assembly in 1970, 1977 and 1991 from Kuthuparamba while in 1996 he was elected from Payyanur.

The election for 140-member Kerala Assembly will be held on April 6. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, March 19 2021. 06:32 IST