Business Standard

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis elected as BJP legislative party leader


ANI Politics
Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis was on Wednesday elected as the leader of BJP legislative party.
Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar attended the meeting as the central observer of the party.
The development comes when the BJP and the Shiv Sena are yet to reach a consensus for the post of chief ministers.
The Shiv Sena is demanding that power be shared between the two parties for 2.5 years each.
The BJP, on the other hand, is consistent on its stand that Devendra Fadnavis will be the next chief minister of the state.
The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance won an absolute majority in the recently concluded Maharashtra assembly polls with the former emerging as the single largest party in the state with 105 seats in the 288 member assembly.
The Shiv Sena, on the other hand, bagged 56 seats in the elections, the results of which were announced on October 24.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Oct 30 2019 | 3:55 PM IST

Explore News