Business Standard

Melbourne Cricket Ground to host ICC World T20 2020 finals


ANI Dubai [UAE]
Australia's largest stadium Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the final of both the men's and women's ICC World Twenty20 in 2020.
The venues for the tournament were announced by organisers on Tuesday with Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney as the eight host cities.
"For the first time, the women's and men's competitions will be held as standalone events in the same host country and in the same year," an official statement form ICC read.
Women's matches will run from February 21 to March 8 in 2020, with the finals being played on International Women's Day, with the aim of creating a world-record attendance for a women's sporting match.
The men's matches will run from October 18 to November 15 in the same year.
David Peever, Chairman of Cricket Australia and the ICC World T20 2020 Local Organising Committee, said, "Australia is extremely privileged to be hosting the ICC World T20 tournaments in 2020."
"On behalf of Cricket Australia and the Local Organising Committee, I would like to sincerely thank Government at both Federal and State and Territory level, host cities, venues and State and Territory Cricket Associations for their exceptional support, which is so critical for delivering the best possible events in 2020," he added.
The world's ten best women's teams and 16 best men's teams will come to Australia to participate in the T20 cricket.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jan 30 2018 | 12:35 PM IST

Explore News