You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

17 Congress ministers lost in Karnataka polls

IANS  |  Bengaluru 

Of the 30 outgoing Ministers, 16 Ministers, including Siddaramaiah, lost the battle of ballot as the election results were announced on Tuesday.

According to the results declared by the (EC), though lost in Chamundeshwari in by a huge margin of 36,042 votes to H.D. Deve Gowda of the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), he won from Badami in Bagalkot by a slender margin of 1,696 votes against BJP's B. Sriramulu.

The other 16 cabinet ministers who bit the dust include H.M. Revanna, T.B. Jayachandra, K. Ramanath Rai, H.C. Mahadevappa, H. Anjaneya, S.R. Patil, S.S. Mallikarjun, A. Manju, Kagodu Thimmappa, Pramod Madhwaraj, Rudrappa Lamani, Shivaraj Tagadagi, Basavaraj Rayareddi and Santosh Lad.

Two women ministers Umashree and also lost the election.

Besides Siddaramaiah, 14 cabinet ministers who won include Ramalinga Reddy, H.K. Patil, U.T. Abdul Khader, M.B. Patil, D.K. Shivakumar, R. Roshan Baig, Krishna Byre Gowda, Tanveer Sait, K.R. Ramesh Kumar, Jarkiholi Ramesh Laxmanrao, K.J. George, Priyank Kharge and Eshwar Khandre.

K.B. Koliwad, who is from the Congress, also lost from Ranebennur in district.

Siddaramaiah's son Yatindra, however, won from his constituency Varuna in the district.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, May 15 2018. 21:12 IST