You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

80 parliamentary constituencies in UP to vote in seven phases

IANS  |  Lucknow 

Elections for Uttar Pradesh's 80 parliamentary seats will be held in seven phases, beginning with the first phase on April 11, (CEC) announced in on Sunday.

As per the schedule, eight parliamentary constituencies each will go to polls in the first and the second phase, to be held on April 11 and April 18, respectively.

Ten constituencies will go to vote in the third phase on April 23, 13 in the fourth phase on April 29, 14 in the fifth phase on May 6, and 14 in the sixth phase on May 12. The remaining 13 constituencies will be voting in the last phase on May 19.

Counting for all the 80 constituencies, of the total 543 seats, will be held on May 23.

The ruling has 71 seats in the 16th Lok Sabha, while its alliance partner (S) has 2. The and the have five and two seats, respectively. The is not represented in the present Lok Sabha.

While the SP and the BSP have buried their two-decade rivalry to contest elections as alliance partners, the is going it alone and has pinned its hopes on the political debut of Gandhi family scion Priyanka

Between them, the SP and the BSP have agreed to contest on 37 seats and 38 seats, respectively.

Ajit Singh's Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), also an alliance partner of the SP-BSP combine, will contest three seats -- Mathura, Muzaffarnagar and Baghpat.

The SP-BSP combine has left two seats for the Congress, which has yet again fielded in Rae Bareli and in Amethi.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 10 2019. 19:24 IST