You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP, Congress excel in Maharashtra civic elections

IANS  |  Mumbai 

Exceeding expectations, the performed well in Sunday's elections in 164 Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats across while the came second in the seats tally, as per official declared on Tuesday.

The also topped the tally in bagging posts of municipality president, with its ally at the Centre and state, Shiv Sena, coming second on this count.

The Hyderabad-based All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) recorded a spectacular performance by bagging 40 seats, Independents scored in 510 seats and local or regional parties cornered 305 seats, said an official of the State Election Commission.

Of the total 3,727 seats contested by more than 15,000 candidates, the bagged 893 seats, followed by the at 727 seats.

The Nationalist Party fared less than expected by notching 615 seats and the Shiv Sena stood fourth in the seats tally at 529.

Raj Thackeray-led Navnirman Sena notched a single-digit performance with win of only seven candidates across the state, in the elections widely touted as 'mini-assembly elections' after post-demonetisation.

The secured control over 51 civic bodies, where its candidates were elected municipality presidents, followed by Shiv Sena's 25, Congress' 23 and NCP just 18.

Independent civic body presidents are 11, while other smaller regional parties bagged 19 top posts in the elections.

The elections to 164 Municipal Councils and Nagar Parishads spread across 25 districts were conducted on Sunday and the final declared on Tuesday by the election panel.

In the keenly contested elections, the BJP virtually made it a prestige issue as Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and BJP state President Raosaheb Danve campaigned in many areas.

Shortly after the showed a positive trend for the BJP late on Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi sent congratulatory message to both Fadnavis and Danve for the good performance.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, November 29 2016. 21:18 IST