You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Congress wins MP by-election, party hails victory

IANS  |  Bhopal 

candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi was on Sunday declared elected to the Assembly from Chitrakoot constituency, defeating his rival by 14,133 votes.

Chaturvedi led right from the start of vote count at 8 a.m. and kept increasing his winning lead, officials said. After 19 rounds of counting, he worsted the Bharatiya Janata Party's Shankar Dayal Tripathi.

According to a statement from the office of the chief electoral officer here, Chaturvedi received 66,810 votes and his rival 52,677 out of the 126,903 votes declared valid.

It said that by the end of the fifth round, Chaturvedi had established a lead of over 10,000 votes over Tripathi and at the end of the tenth, was ahead by 17,959. However, Tripathi then rallied and by the end, had shrunk the lead to 14,133.

The to the constituency in Satna district was called after the death of sitting legislator Prem Singh. A total of 12 candidates were in the fray including nine independents.

In New Delhi, spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala termed his party's victory in the bypoll an indication of change, and thanked the people for their faith in the party.

"The winds of change are in the air. Many thanks to the people of Chitrakoot for their faith and trust in the Congress party," Surjewala tweeted.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, November 12 2017. 18:16 IST