You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Election Commission transfers Shillong poll officer

IANS  |  Shillong 

Ahead of the first phase polls, the (EC) on Tuesday transferred two officials, including Returning for parliamentary seat, Matsiewdor and replaced her with Abhishek Bhagotia, an said.

Nongbri, who was appointed as of East district on January this year, is now posted as (Secretariat Administration Department).

of West district Garod L.S.N. Dykes, who was also removed and replaced by Chinmay P. Gotmare, is posted as (Secretary) Education department.

"As far as I know, there are no adverse remarks against the but the commission transferred them on technical grounds since both officers are posted in the respective home district which is against EC's guidelines," Chief Electoral Officer, said.

has two parliamentary constituencies -- and Tura -- that will go to polls on April 11.

The National People's Party-led Democratic Alliance (MDA) government has announced it would jointly field former Union from the Tura seat and United Democratic Party's Jemino Mawthoh from the constituency.

However, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which is also part of the National People's Party-led, six-party MDA, decided to field its own candidates from the state's two parliamentary constituencies.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 13 2019. 00:14 IST