Business Standard

The Losers, 2019

The 2019 Maharashtra Assembly election tells us that while constancy and fealty pay and that timing is everything

Devendra Fadnavis

Mumbai: Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis during a press conference in Mumbai, Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2019. Fadnavis on Tuesday resigned as Maharashtra Chief Minister | Photo: PTI

Aditi Phadnis
There’s a saying in Hindi: “Chaube gaye Chhabbe banane, rah gaye Dube”. It describes a person who tries to overreach himself, and ends up worse off than he was before. There are many winners in the Maharashtra saga, some who have got much more than they could possibly have hoped for or deserve. But it is the losers who need to worry.

Narayan Rane was a Shiv Sainik whom Balasaheb himself anointed Chief Minister: he adored “Saheb” but could not reconcile to the rise and rise of Uddhav. Rane was responsible for creating and strengthening the Sena in Konkan. When Uddhav
Disclaimer: These are personal views of the writer. They do not necessarily reflect the opinion of or the Business Standard newspaper

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Nov 29 2019 | 9:25 PM IST

Explore News

To read the full story, subscribe to BS Premium now, at just Rs 249/ month.

Key stories on are available only to BS Premium subscribers.

Register to