Business Standard

18 to battle it out for lone LS seat in Pondy, 8 for bypoll


Press Trust of India Puducherry
: A total of 18 candidates is in the fray for the lone Lok Sabha seat the election for which is scheduled April 18, as no candidate withdrew the nominations Friday, the last day for withdrawal of the papers.
Announcing this to reporters here, deputy district election officer S Sakthivelu said there was no withdrawal of nomination by any candidate and consequently all the 18 candidates, including independents, were left in the battle.
Senior Congress leader and former Speaker V Vaithilingam, doctor-turned-politician K Narayanasamy (AINRC) and Dr M A S Subramanian (Makkal Needhi Maiam) were among those contesting for the Lok Sabha seat.
For the vacant Thattanchavady assembly constituency which is going to polls also on April 18, the withdrawal of nominations by two candidates has left eight candidates fighting it out for the seat.
The candidates include P Nedunchezhian (AINRC)and K Venkatesan (DMK).
The seat fell vacant after the sitting legislator Ashok Anand (AINRC) was disqualified following his conviction by a CBI court in October last for alleged accumulation of assets disproportionate to known sources of income.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 29 2019 | 5:50 PM IST

Explore News