You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

20 AAP MLAs Chronology

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Following is the chronology of events in the office-of-profit case in which the today set aside the disqualification of 20 (AAP) MLAs and directed the (EC) to hear the matter afresh:

*Mar 13, 2015: The Arvind Kejriwal govt passes an order to appoint 21 MLAs as Parliamentary Secretaries.

*Jun 19: The appointment was challenged by who seeks their disqualification with

*Jun 24: passes the Delhi Member of (Removal of Disqualification) (Amendment Bill), 2015 excluding Parliamentary Secretaries from 'Office of Profit' with retrospective effect.

*Jun 13, 2016: Mukherjee refuses to give his assent to the Bill.

*Jun 25: Centre returns 14 bills passed by Delhi government, including the Bill on Parliamentary secretaries.

*Jul 14-21: EC gives hearing to 21 AAP MLAs.

*Sep 8, 2016: The Delhi HC sets aside an order of the appointing 21 of the party's MLAs as parliamentary secretaries.

*Sep 8: EC issues a show cause notice to 21 AAP MLAs.

*Jan 6, 2017: Jarnail Singh, AAP MLA from Rajouri Garden, resigns.

*Jun 24, : EC rejects pleas of AAP MLAs to drop 'Office of Profit' case.

*Aug : The 20 AAP MLAs move HC against the EC's June 24 order.

*Oct 9: EC issues notice to AAP MLAs, seeks explanation.

*Jan 19, 2018: EC recommends to Ram Nath Kovind disqualification.

*Jan 20: President Kovind approves the EC's recommendation of disqualifying 20 AAP MLAs.

*Jan 24 : MLAs moves High Court seeking quashing of the decision.

*Feb 7: The HC fixes day-today hearing of MLAs' pleas.

* Feb 28: The HC reserves order on AAP MLAs' pleas.

*Mar 23: The HC quashes notification that had led to disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 23 2018. 18:30 IST