You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Assam reorganises different divisions

Press Trust of India  |  Guwahati 

The government has reorganised the different divisions of state for administrative expediency.

The North Division will comprise the districts of Darrang (Mangaldoi) and Udalguri of Lower Division, whereas Nagaon district is excluded from North Assam Division with headquarters at Tezpur, said a government release.

Darrang (Mangaldoi) and Udalguri districts are excluded from Lower Assam Division with headquarters in Guwahati, the release said.

The Hills and Barak Valley Division is renamed as 'Barak Valley Division' with the districts of Cachar, Karimgang and Hailakandi.

The two hill districts of Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao have been excluded from this division with headquarters at Nagaon.

A new division has been formed as the Central Assam Division, with the districts of Nagaon, Morigaon and two Hill districts of Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao with headquarters at Nagaon, it said.

The Upper Assam Division, however, will remain unchanged, the release added.

First Published: Sat, October 31 2015. 20:22 IST