You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Bihar spinner Aman breaks Bedi's record; Uttarakhand qualify

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

left-arm spinner Aman etched his name in record books, surpassing the great as the highest wicket-taker in a season after claiming his 65th scalp here on Wednesday.

defeated by three wickets, while Uttarakhand sealed the lone quarterfinal spot from the Plate Group with a bonus point win over in the Plate Group.

The 32-year-old Aman achieved the feat when he trapped Manipur's Sagatpam Singh lbw for his 65th wicket and eclipsed former Bedi's tally of 64 wickets for in 1974-75.

An employee of Indian Air Force, Aman, ended up with 7/71 against in the second innings to end the season with 68 wickets from 14 innings at an average of 6.48.

Resuming the day at 217/7 in their second innings and with a lead of 116, were bundled out for 238, with Aman claiming all the three wickets at the here.

138, were tottering at 43/5 before (53) led a solid fightback while Aman remained unbeaten on 22 to seal a tense three-wicket chase.

Needing just a win to edge out Bihar, Uttarakhand secured a massive innings and 56 run-win over at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Dehradun.

Uttarakhand topped the table with 44 points with Bihar finishing second with 40 points.

Resuming the day for 32/1 following on, could only manage 123 runs in reply to Uttarakhand's 377 with claiming 4/17.

Taruwar Kohli waged the lone battle for Mizoram with a valiant 68 in the second essay to go with his 96 in the first innings and was adjudged man-of-the-match.

For Uttarakhand, took 3/29 while claimed 2/14.

Uttarakhand will be taking on the combined table-topper from Group A and B.

Brief Scores

In Dehradun: Uttarakhand 377. Mizoram 198 and following-on123; 59 overs (Taruwar Kohli 68; 4/17, 3/29). Uttarakhand won by an innings and 56 runs. Points: Uttarakhand 7, Mizoram 0.

In Dimapur: 467 and 185/5; 55 overs (HH Zhimomi 49 batting, Arbar Kazi 42 batting). Puducherry 286; 98.2 overs (144, Sai Karthik 81; Arbar Kazi 4/62, Imliwati Lemtur 3/57).

In Goalpara: 169 and 109; 45.3 overs (Kshitiz Sharma 31, Techi Neri 23 not out; Ishwar Chaudhary 7/51). 262 and 19 for no loss; 1.3 overs. won by 10 wickets. Points: 7, Arunchal Pradesh 0.

In Patna: Manipur 156 and 238; 70.4 overs (Yashpal Singh 105, Priyojit Singh 64; Aman 7/71, 3/93). Bihar 257 and 140/7; 25.1 overs (53, Vikash Ranjan 39, Aman 22 not out). Bihar won by three wickets. Points: Bihar 6. Manipur 0.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, January 09 2019. 18:11 IST