You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

CPI(M), IUML name candidates for 3 LS seats

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

The CPI(M) and Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) Friday named their candidates for three Lok Sabha constituencies allotted to them as part of seat-sharing arrangement in the 'Secular Progressive Alliance,' led by

The CPI(M) has fielded former Lok Sabha P R Natarajan in consituency, which he represented in the 15th Lok Sabha, while Sahitya Akademi Award winner and Tamil S Venkatesan would contest in the constituency.

"Natarajan has been associated with the party since 1968 and has held various positions. The two candidates would be raising issues of in Parliament once elected," CPI(M) K told reporters here.

The IUML, which was alloted the Ramanathapuram seat, has announced K Nawaz Kani, of a courier company, as the candidate.

"Fishermen in Ramanathapuram are facing several issues, water scarcity and employment are also among those plaguing people here. I will address them if elected," told reporters soon after the announcement.

Earlier in the day, the opposition named the constituencies in and Puducherry from where the party and its allies would be contesting.

There are 39 Lok Sabha seats in and one in neighbouring Puducherry, voting for all of which will be held in the second phase scheduled on April 18.

The has been allotted the lion's share of 10 seats (nine in TN and one in Puducherry) among other parties in the alliance.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 15 2019. 19:10 IST