You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Farook assumes charge as AP Legislative Council chairman

Press Trust of India  |  Amaravati 

Senior legislator N Md Farook today assumed charge as chairman of the Legislative Council.

Farook was unanimously elected as chairman of the 58- member Upper House in May this year.

Hailing from Nandyal in Kurnool district, Farook had been an for three terms and served as a minister in the Cabinets of N T Rama Rao and in united

He also served as Deputy Speaker of the AP Legislative Assembly.

The chairman's post was vacant following the retirement of incumbent A Chakrapani in May.

Legislative Affairs Minister and other senior members of the council congratulated Farook on assuming charge.

Meanwhile, member Payyavula Kesav has been appointed as Chief Whip in the council. Four other members were appointed as Whips.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, November 15 2017. 16:07 IST