You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Farooq Abdullah, others file nominations for by-polls

Press Trust of India  |  Srinagar 

leader Farooq Abdullah and ruling PDP candidate Nazir Ahmad Khan today filed their nomination papers for constituency which is going to by-polls on April 9.

Abdullah and Khan filed their nomination papers before the Returning Officer Farooq Ahmad Lone.

The by-to constituency has been necessitated by the resignation of Tariq Hamid Karra from the in September last year in a mark of protest against alleged "brutalities" on protesters.

He defeated Abdullah in 2014 polls while contesting on a PDP ticket.

Karra, who recently joined Congress, is not contesting the polls this time following a seat-sharing agreement between and his new party.

is contesting the South Kashmir Lok Sabha seat where Pradesh Committee president G A Mir will take on PDP's Mufti Tassaduq Hussain, brother of Chief Minister

The polling in south Kashmir is scheduled for April 12.

PDP candidate for constituency, Khan also filed his papers today.

He was accompanied by PDP Lok Sabha MP from Baramulla and senior party leader Muzaffar Hussain Beigh and former state minister Imran Ansari.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 20 2017. 14:42 IST