You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Final Electoral Roll of 2018 published in Bengal

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

The Commission today published the final for 2018 in after the completion of its summary revision, Additional Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Saibal

The summary revision of electoral rolls for 2018 was held in respect of 291 assembly constituencies, excluding Kalimpong, Darjeeling and Kurseong.

Summary revision of rolls of the three constituencies in the hills could not be done due to disturbances there but would be taken up soon by the Commission, said.

He said 8,63,037 names were added in the final taking the total electors in 291 assembly constituencies in the state to 6,75,93,851 from 6,67,29,914 electors in the draft roll of 2018.

Since the bye-in Uluberia LS Constituency and Noapara assembly constituency is slated on January 29, the final for them had already been made on January 2 this year, he said.

However, the programme for continuous updation of the electoral eolls would be carried out even after the final publication of electoral rolls of 2018.

"Under the continuous updation programme citizens who want to enroll their names in the electoral rolls and are otherwise eligible will get opportunity to be enrolled," said.

The enrolled electors may also apply for corrections in the electoral rolls, he added.

The Additional said like previous occasions the National Voters Day would be celebrated on January 25 where district election officers, electoral registration officers and booth level officers would be felicitated for their work in updating the gender ratio, enrolment of young electors and cleansing of the electoral rolls.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, January 10 2018. 21:40 IST