Business Standard

Five candidates file nomination papers for Punjab bypoll


Press Trust of India Chandigarh
Five candidates have filed their nomination papers for the upcoming by-elections to four assembly seats in Punjab, official said on Friday.
Candidates filed nomination papers for Dakha and Jalalabad assembly constituencies, he said, adding that the last day of filing nomination papers is September 30.
Akali leaders Manpreet Singh Ayali, Harkiner Singh and Amandeep Singh, Gurpreet Kaur Thind of AAP, and Independent candidate Jai Parkash Jain have filed their nomination papers from the Dakha assembly constituency.
Jagdeep Kamboj filed his nomination papers as Independent for the Jalalabad assembly seat. Till now, no nomination paper has been filed for Phagwara and Mukerian assembly segments, the official said.
He said nomination papers cannot be presented to the Returning Officer on Saturday and Sunday.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Sep 27 2019 | 8:45 PM IST

Explore News