Business Standard

Gobind Singh Longowal re-elected as SGPC chief


Press Trust of India Amritsar
Gobind Singh Longowal was re-elected as president of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) during its annual general house meeting here on Wednesday.
He will head the apex gurdwara body for the third time in a row after being elected as its chief for the first time in November 2017.
Longowal was re-elected unanimously after his name was proposed by former SGPC chief Jagir Kaur during the general house meeting at the Teja Singh Samudari Hall in the Committee premises.
Longowal becomes the 44th chief of the SGPC.
He was a legislator in 1985, 1997, 2002 and 2015 and became a SGPC member in 2011.
Rajinder Singh Mehta was elected as senior vice-president, Gurbaksh Singh Nawashehar as junior vice-president and Harjinder Singh Dhami became the general secretary of the SGPC.
Besides, 11 executive members of the body who were also elected are Bhupinder Singh Asand, Jagsir Singh, Harpal Singh Gora, Sher Singh Mandwala, Parmjit Khera, Jasmer Singh, Amarjit Singh Bhlaipur, Surjit Singh Kang, Indermohan Singh, Mukhwinder Singh and Bibi Kuldeep Kaur Tohra.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Nov 27 2019 | 4:00 PM IST

Explore News