Business Standard

Have just two categories of govt accommodation for MPs: Rudy


Press Trust of India New Delhi
BJP MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy on Wednesday said that instead of several categories of accommodations for members of Parliament (MPs), there should be only two categories.
Participating in the debate in Lok Sabha on the Public Premises (Eviction of Unauthorised Occupants) Amendment Bill, 2019, Rudy said that the government should allocate good accommodation to even first or second term MPs.
He said, "We should not have several categories (types) of accommodation for MPs. Instead, we should have only two categories (types) of accommodation" -- one for ministers and the other for MPs.
Currently, there are eight categories - 1 to 8. All the Union ministers are entitled to get accommodation of type-VIII category, which is the highest.
The MPs are allotted bungalows of type 5 to 7 and the rest are for for other government employees.
Rudy said officials who after retirement join any constitutional post should not be provided government accommodation and instead should be paid allowance for availing private accommodation.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jul 31 2019 | 8:15 PM IST

Explore News