You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

IM Munguntuul, IM Anna favourites to win women chess tourney

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Mongolia's IM Munguntuul Batkhuyag and IM of are favourites to win the SBI Life-AICF Women Championship to be held here from tomorrow.

The Rs 7.50 lakh prize money championship has been jointly organised by the Indian School and the South Mumbai Academy under the auspices of the All-India Chess Federation (AICF), a issued here said.

A total of 12 women players (six Indians and as many foreigners) selected by the AICF will be vying for the top honours in the tournament which offers a prize money of Rs 7.50 lakhwith the winner set to get richer by Rs 1.60 lakh, it said.

WGM Tokhirjonova Gulrukhbegim of Uzbekistan, WGM Vo Thi of Vietnamand Nakhbayeva Guliskhan of along withWomen International Master Tomilova Elena from are the other overseas contenders for the title.

The Indian challenge would be spearheaded by WIM Aakanksha Hagawane, who is closely followed by WIM G K Monnisha, WIMVantika Agrawal and WIM Srija Seshadri.

WFM Divya Deshmukh (2138), the reigning World Under-12 champion, and former Asian champion Rakshitta Ravi will also test their skills against these top women, the release added.

Moreover,anAll for children in under-7 to under-15 age groups in nine categories will be conducted simultaneously.

A total prize fund of Rs 1 lakh and 54 trophies will be awarded to the children, it said.

Starting Rank List:1. IM Munguntuul Batkhuyag (MGL, ELO 2410), 2. WGM Tokhirjonova G. (UZB, 2379), 3. WGM Vo Thi (VIE, 2376), 4. WIM Tomilova Elena (RUS, 2334), 5. WGM Nakhbayeva Guliskhan (KAZ, 2323), 6. IM Zozulia Anna (BEL, 2314), 7. WIM (IND, 2297), 8. WIM Monnisha G K (IND, 2295), 9. WIM Vantika Agrawal (IND, 2279), 10. WIM Srija Seshadri (IND, 2207), 11. WFM Divya Deshmukh (IND, 2138), 12. Rakshitta Ravi (IND, 2067).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, June 11 2018. 19:50 IST