You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

In a first, three women judges in Supreme Court

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

With the swearing-in of Justice Indira Banerjee, the will for the first time in its history have three sitting women judges.

Justice is the eighth woman in the since Independence.

She became a high court on February 5, 2002 and was made a of the on April 5, 2017. She will retire on September 23, 2022.

Before her, was appointed as the seventh woman in the apex court.

Malhotra was the to be directly appointed as the judge of the

Among the three sitting women judges, Justice R Banumathi is the senior most and was elevated to the apex court on August 13, 2014.

The first of the apex court was Justice who was appointed in 1989, 39 years after the Supreme Court was set up in 1950. She was elevated to the apex court after her retirement as a judge of the

The second was Justice Sujata V Manohar, who started her career as a judge of the and rose to become the of She was elevated to the apex court where she remained from November 8, 1994 till August 27, 1999.

Justice followed Justice Manohar after a gap of almost five months and became the longest-serving woman judge, from January 28, 2000 to June 2, 2006.

After her retirement, it took four years to appoint the next Justice was elevated to the Supreme Court from the where she was the Her tenure in the apex court was from April 30, 2010 to April 27, 2014.

During her stint, she was joined by Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai, who served in the apex court between September 13, 2011 and October 29, 2014.

These two judges created a history by holding court together as an all-women bench for a day in 2013.

After the retirement of Justice Desai on October 29, 2014, Justice Banumathi was the lone in the apex court till the appointment of Justice Malhotra on April 27, this year.

Justice Banumathi will retire on July 19, 2020.

This is the for the first time the apex court is having three women judges.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, August 07 2018. 13:15 IST