You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Maha: Rane, Ketkar file nominations for Rajya Sabha polls

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Former and Kumar were among the four candidates who today filed their nominations for March 23 biennial elections for six seats from the state.

The election for the six seats was expected to be unopposed but the BJP today fielded State Commission for Women chairperson Vijaya Rahatkar, taking up the number of candidates in fray to seven.

March 15 is the deadline for withdrawal of papers, a said.

and sitting members (Shiv Sena) and (NCP) filed their papers last week.

accompanied and former BJP V Muraleedharan when they filed their nomination papers at the Vidhan Bhawan today.

quit the in 2005 and later joined the He ended his over-a-decade-long association with the party in September last year, formed the Swabhiman Paksh, and allied with the BJP-led NDA.

Ketkar, a regular on TV debates, filed his papers in the presence of Maharashtra Pradesh Committee

The ruling BJP is set to increase its tally from Maharashtra in the and also in the state Legislative Council, given its improved strength in the 288-member post the 2014 polls.

At present, the opposition and the NCP hold two seats each, while the and the BJP have apiece each of these six seats of the of Parliament.

The BJP, with its tally of 122 in the Assembly, is poised to get three Rajya Sabha seats now, while the Sena, the Congress and the NCP will get one each.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 12 2018. 18:20 IST